Topic ID 2593

How do I move my license of Minitab, Companion by Minitab, or Minitab Workspace to another computer?

The Move License feature allows a single-user license of a Minitab desktop product to be moved to a new computer without having to contact Technical Support. It deactivates the license on the current computer and resets the product key to use on a new computer.

To move a license, perform the following steps:

Move a license in Minitab 20, Minitab 19, or Minitab 18

  1. Start Minitab.
  2. Choose Help > About.
  3. Click Move License.
  4. Select Yes to confirm that you want to deactivate Minitab on the current computer.
  5. Select Save to text file to save the product key to a location on your computer.
  6. Activate Minitab on a new computer using the same product key.

Move a license in Minitab on a macOS

  1. Start Minitab.
  2. Choose Help > License.
  3. Click License Options.
  4. Select Remove the License and click Next.
  5. Select I have an internet connection and click Next.
  6. Select Save Key to save the product key to a location on your computer.
  7. Activate Minitab on a new computer using the same product key.

Move a license in Companion by Minitab or Minitab Workspace

  1. Start Companion by Minitab or Minitab Workspace.
  2. From the Backstage menu, choose Help.
  3. Under License Information, click Move License.
  4. Select Yes to confirm that you want to deactivate Companion by Minitab or Minitab Workspace on the current computer.
  5. Select Save to text file to save the product key to a location on your computer.
  6. Activate Companion by Minitab or Minitab Workspace on a new computer using the same product key.

If you purchased an upgrade version, the new key produced by Move License will also be an upgrade key. Therefore, you must install and activate a previous version of Minitab on the new computer prior to using the new key.

By using this site you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.  Read our policy