You can set up email notifications to alert users of events related to tasks and workflow.

Task notifications

When email notifications are on, a user receives an email message when any of the following task events occur.
A task is assigned
The task assignee and/or the project owner are notified.
A task is reassigned
The new task assignee, the previous task assignee, and/or the project owner are notified.
A task is due soon
The task assignee and/or the project owner are notified.
A task is overdue
The task assignee and/or the project owner are notified.
A task due date is changed
The task assignee and/or the project owner are notified.

Turn off email notifications for tasks

Email notifications are on by default, but you can turn them off.

  1. In the web app, select Design. If a sandbox is not available, then create one.
  2. In the sandbox, select Notifications.
  3. Under Task Notifications, select Turn off.
  4. When you are finished making changes in the sandbox and you are satisfied with how they will be applied in the live site, select Publish Changes.

Edit email notifications for tasks

Email notifications can alert users when a task due date is approaching or overdue, when the due date changes, or if the task was reassigned. You can also specify who receives the email notification.

  1. In the web app, select Design. If a sandbox is not available, then create one.
  2. In the sandbox, select Notifications.
  3. Under Task Notifications, next to the item to edit, select the edit icon .
  4. Under Configure, choose a status field and a due date field on which to base the email notification.
  5. For task due dates only, under When, enter the number of days before or after a task is due to send an email notification. You can also choose whether to send an email notification on the day the task is due.
    • To increase the frequency of the notification, select Add Notification.
    • To reduce the frequency of the notification, select the x to delete the setting.
  6. Under Send To, specify who to send the email notifications to.
  7. When you are finished making changes in the sandbox and you are satisfied with how they will be applied in the live site, select Publish Changes.

Workflow notifications

When workflow and email notifications are on, a user receives an email message when any of the following workflow events occur.
An idea is submitted
The steering committee members are notified.
An idea is submitted and remains unreviewed for a specified number of days
The steering committee members are notified.
An idea is approved and moved to the hopper
The user who submitted the idea is notified.
An idea is rejected
The user who submitted the idea is notified.
An idea is now an active project
The user who submitted the idea is notified.
A new or existing project is assigned to a new project owner
The new project owner is notified.
A new or existing project is assigned to a new review board member
The new review board member is notified.
A project phase is submitted for review
The review board members who are required to review it are notified.
A project phase is withdrawn from review
The project owner is notified.
A project phase is approved
The project owner is notified.
A project phase is rejected
The project owner and all the review board members are notified.
A project phase is due in a specified number of days, is due, or is overdue by a specified number of days
The project owner and the review board members who are required to review it are notified.
A project is complete
The project owner and all the review board members are notified.

Turn off email notifications for workflow

Email notifications are on by default, but you can turn them off.

Note

When you turn off email notifications for workflow, users will continue to receive notifications on the Workflow page in the web app. Therefore, even after you turn off email notifications, you can still edit workflow notifications.

  1. In the web app, select Design. If a sandbox is not available, then create one.
  2. In the sandbox, select Notifications.
  3. Under Workflow Notifications, select Turn off.
  4. When you are finished making changes in the sandbox and you are satisfied with how they will be applied in the live site, select Publish Changes.

Edit notifications for phases and unreviewed ideas

When workflow is on, notifications can alert project owners and review board members when a project phase is pending, due, or overdue. Notifications can also alert steering committee members when they have not yet reviewed a new idea.

You can specify when and how often to send the notifications.

  1. In the web app, select Design. If a sandbox is not available, then create one.
  2. In the sandbox, select Notifications.
  3. Under Workflow Notifications, next to the item to edit, select the edit icon .
  4. For phase due dates, under When, enter the number of days before or after a phase is due to send a notification. You can also choose whether or not to send an email notification on the day the phase is due. For unreviewed ideas, under When, enter the number of days an idea has gone unreviewed before sending an email notification.
    • To increase the frequency of the notification, select Add Notification.
    • To reduce the frequency of the notification, select the x to delete the setting.
  5. When you are finished making changes in the sandbox and you are satisfied with how they will be applied in the live site, select Publish Changes.
By using this site you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.  Read our policy