Check out and check in projects

When you check out a project from the repository, it is locked for editing. When you close the project, it is checked in. This governance prevents you from having to manage multiple versions of the same project.

Check out a project

When you open a project for editing, only you can edit it because it is checked out in the repository. Other users can view the project while it is checked out to you, but they cannot edit it. A project remains checked out until you close it. Only project owners, data architects, administrators, and users who have Can Edit access can open a project in edit mode.

To check out a project, open the project in the desktop app

The following table shows the checkout rules that apply to different user roles.
Role Checkout rule
Project Owners
  • If you open a project that you own, and it is not checked out by a different user, then the project is checked out for editing.
  • If you open a project that you own, and it is checked out by a different user, then the project opens in read-only mode.
  • If you open a project that you own, and then save it as a new project, then the original project is closed and checked in and the new project is checked out for editing.
Data architects and administrators
  • If you open a project as a data architect or as an administrator, then you have the option to open the project in read-only mode or edit mode. If you open the project in edit mode, then the project is checked out for editing.
Users
  • If you open a project as a user who has Can View access, then the project is not checked out and it opens in read-only mode.
  • If you open a project as a user who has Can Edit access, then you have the option to open the project in read-only mode or edit mode. If you open the project in edit mode, then the project is checked out for editing.

Release a checkout (data architects and administrators only)

At times, a data architect or an administrator might have to release a checkout. For example, if a user forgets to close a project in edit mode, a project recovery file exists, or a data architect needs to apply an update. However, releasing a checkout can cause lost work. So, before you release a checkout, contact the user who has the project checked out, and try either of the following:
  • If the project is open, have the user save and close the project.
  • If the project is not open, have the user open the project, save the recovery file, and then close the project.

If you still cannot check in the project, select the project in the repository and click Release Checkout. To view a list of all projects that are checked out, from the list of filters in the project repository, choose Checked Out Projects.

Check in a project

When you close a project that is checked out for editing, it is automatically checked in. To verify that the project is checked in, go to the project repository and click the Refresh button .

Check in a project if a recovery file exists

If Companion loses connection to the repository while you are editing a project, for example, you close your laptop lid, then a temporary recovery file is created so you can save your changes. The project stays checked out in the repository until you complete the following steps:

  1. If necessary, re-establish an Internet connection.
  2. Open the desktop app.
  3. When the recovery file opens, do either of the following:
    • (Recommended) To save the changes in the recovery file, save the project and close the desktop app. The project is checked in with the latest changes.
    • To discard the changes in the recovery file, close the desktop app without saving the project. The project is checked in without the latest changes.
By using this site you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.  Read our policy